Ballon d’Or for the fourth time for Messi

Updated: January 8, 2013

Messi, 25, beats team-mate Andres Iniesta and Real Madrid rival Cristiano Ronaldo to the prize.

It was a record fourth successive trophy for the Argentina star, who won both the FIFA World Player of the Year and the Ballon d’Or in 2009 before then claiming the FIFA Ballon d’Or in 2010 and 2011 when the two prizes were merged.

Men’s World Player of the Year: Lionel Messi

Women’s World Player of the Year: Abby Wambach

Men’s Coach of the Year: Vicente Del Bosque

Women’s Coach of the Year: Pia Sundhage

FIFPRO XI:  Iker Casillas (Real Madrid and Spain) , Dani Alves (Barcelona and Brazil), Gerard Pique (Barcelona and Spain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid and Brazil); Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid and Spain), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona and Spain), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona and Spain); Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina), Radamel Falcao (Atletico Madrid and Colombia), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal).

FIFA Puskas Award for best goal: Miroslav Stoch

FIFA Fair Play Award 2012: Football Federation of Uzbekistan

FIFA Presidential Award: Franz Beckenbauer

About rathin

Rathin Maheshwaran has written 30 post in this blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>